The “Real” Post

By

“You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children.” 
― Madeleine L’Engle

Dear Reader,

Madeline said it best. In this case, the book is too difficult to write for children, so I write it for adults.

Our worlds contain such a complexity of things that when writing we have to find some way to change it because as the world ages, so does the technology that we’ve developed since the first MacIntosh was completed. Sure we may not have flying cars or buildings that are glass with elliptical belts as floors just yet but imagination could and more than likely will make this happen. Possibly long after we’ve succumbed to an eternal sleep and are six feet under while pushing up daisies. (FF: Human flesh is the best fertiliser).

Now, even though we’re used to stories that incorporate the world we live in today and call the worlds full of hover crafts and haloprojectors fantasy, have we really ever thought that somehwere, in another dimension, so unlike from our own, that we’re lightyears behind in technology?

With this in mind, I’ve been pondering the idea of romance, in the twenty-fifth century that will not have the things we’re used to but things we’ve seen in movies like iRobot. Maybe not today, and possible not in the next few years but I’m determined to write something that includes the future and why we’re just fine in the present.

I’m not Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, or Herman Melville,. I’m a simple young woman growing up in a world that is too slow and too sheltered for her understand and though we’re quite used to people talking about politics and what the hell is going on in them, we hardly pay attention to the fact that four years (the length the president is allowed to stand term) flies by in the blink of an eye. Why are you making me read this useless information, you may ask. The answer to that is because you need to know that I hate our president and would even if he was the same race, colour, or creed as myself. (FYI, I do not know what creed our president is, I’m not into him like that.) I believe that the only thing we have in common is that we both belong to the human race and I’m assuming that we are both African American.

Now, the reason for me rambling about this happens to be subject to fact that I’m going to corrupt every belief, every opinion and every thought ounce of knowledge of what happens to democracy when one thinks he’s superior reigns and I’m goin to do it sometime this year.

“Scary dreams and daylight hauntings are what happens when you’re afraid of the monsters that lay in the walls around you..” 
― Myself

Stay tuned,

T. K.

